Welcome to Travelers' Stories About Turkey
|Welcome to Travelers' Stories About Turkey, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of Travelers' Stories About Turkey by signing in or creating an account.
Posted 07 April 2004 - 14:59
The first museum in Edirne was opened with the name "Archeology Museum" in 1925 upon the order of Atatürk in Dar - ül Kurr'a Madrasa, which has been constructed together with Selimiye Mosque between 1569 - 1575 in the courtyard of Selimiye Mosque and which is a work of Mimar Sinan.
Since Edirne has been the capital of the Ottoman State for 91 years, the palace has impacted the folk art and enriched it in terms of ethnography and therefore, a second museum has been needed. A second museum bearing the name "Ethnography Museum" has been opened in the Madrasa in the courtyard of Selimiye Mosque, called as Dar - ül Tedris on November 25th, 1936. Ministry of National Education and General Directorate of Foundations have made monetary contributions to this museum and some valuable goods have been presented by Ankara and İstanbul Museums.
In recent years, the works entering the museum by excavation and donation have increased, hence the number of visitors has increased. As a result, a modern museum has been needed and a modern museum has been opened in 1971 under the name (Archeology and Ethnography Museum".
The museum in Dar - ül Tedris Madrasa is continuing its service as "Turkish - Islamic Works Museum".
ARCHEOLOGY AND ETHNOGRAPHY MUSEUM
Ethnography Section: at the entrance, on the left side, there is a collection consisting of silver works with sultan's signature and other house tools, donated by a person from Edirne and just beside it, the Gördes - type carpet prayer rug laid on the niche of Selimiye Mosque and Şarköy kilims belonging to XIXth century are located. Again in the first of the three showcases in the same line, the coins belonging to the Ottoman sultans' periods, in the second showcase the treasures found during the base excavations, and in the third showcase the coins caught at the customs doors while being illegally transferred to other countries and brought to the museum are exhibited.
One of the most important parts of the hall is the part reflecting the ritual circumcision and bride rooms. The ritual circumcision bed is prepared by putting 22 bindallı side by side and a valuable bed set worked on satin belonging to the XVIIIth century is laid on them.
The "Edirnekari" large board door belonging to the end of XVIIth century, which is on the wall of the ritual circumcision and bride room, is one the most beautiful samples of its period.
In the showcases in the middle of the inner hall, the style cover used in the palace, spoons made of the covers of sea turtles, long - spouted ewers, water pipe sets made of crystal and the clothes of XIXth century men and women are exhibited. The sitting room in the same hall and the money drawers, writing drawers and chests made with Edirnekari technique are interesting.
Before passing to the hand works section, in the showcases on the left and right sides, embroidered handkerchiefs having different motifs, the blanket, which was used by Atatürk during his visit to Edirne and the map he used during the Balkan War are exhibited.
In the hand works part, there is a village kitchen, carpet, kilim and rush mat weaving looms, tools used in shoe manufacture, agricultural tools and instruments used in farming and a phaeton are located.
Archeology Section: At the entrance, on the right side, the photograph panel showing the first tumulus excavations made in the region between the years 1936 - 1939 upon the order of Atatürk is located and on the left side, a map showing the archaic residence locations of Thrace.
The stone works exhibited along the wall are in three groups:
2- architectural parts
The showcase, in which women busts made of cooked soil is interesting in terms of showing the hair styles of women from the Archaic Period until today. Works belonging to various periods, which were caught while being sent abroad, are exhibited in the contraband works showcase.
In the showcase belonging to Thrace cult documents, cavalry stells depicting the Thracean cavalry, who were very skillful in war art and horsemanship and who were deified after their death, are exhibited.
Along the wall, sculptures of Roman period are placed.
In four fossil showcases, fossil parts belonging to various animals that have been obtained in the sand - gravel mines and coal mines in the region and that are dated to periods starting from one million year before today and going back to 30 - 35 million years are exhibited.
Among the prehistoric works belonging to Odrisia, which is the first city residence of Odrisses, which is a big Trak clan, at 5 km northwestern of Edirne, stone axes, handmade, rough - dough notch - ornamented earthenware pot parts, hand mill are exhibited in the horizontal showcase in the middle of the hall.
The grave gifts obtained in the Hacılar Dolmen, Arpalık Dolmen and Taşlıca Bayır Tumulus excavations are exhibited in the showcases called with their names. In the middle, in one of the two horizontal showcases, the Thracean coins belonging to Hellenistic kings are exhibited while in the other showcase the coins belonging to the rulers period are located. In the two vertical showcases, Roman and Byzantine coins are exhibited in chronological order.
In the museum garden, Ionian, Aiol, Korinth, Byzantine column heads and various architectural parts are exhibited. Besides these, the altar having an Eros relief on it, which belongs to the Roman period and the dolmens and menhirs brought from Lalapaşa Hacılar Village are interesting works.
TURKISH - ISLAMIC WORKS MUSEUM
The works are exhibited in the room numbered 14 in Dar - ül Tedris Madrasa in the courtyard of Selimiye Mosque.
Room of Wrestlers:
The photographs of the champion wrestlers of Kırkpınar wrestling championships, and Kırkpınar masters are exhibited. Furthermore, a wrestler and Kırkpınar master are depicted on mannequins. Dervish Lodge Goods Room: IT is one of the most important rooms of the museum. It is the room where the goods gathered after closing the dervish lodges are exhibited. There are hand - written calligraphy samples on the walls, 2 door wings of IInd Beyazıd Mosque made with kündekari technique, the hand writing presented by Selim IInd to Selimiye Mosque and various goods are exhibited here.
Hand woven wool socks collected from different regions of the country are exhibited. Ornament and Plate Room: Plates made with silk on satin, scale collections appliqued on cloth, Ottoman writing ornamented towels in niches, embroidered handkerchiefs and covers are in this room.
Gun Room I - II:
Ottoman lighter - rifles belonging to the end of XVII - XVIII century, armors, helmets, cavalry swords, battle - axes, shields, mittens, arbolets, arrows, daggers and Janissary clothes on mannequins are exhibited.
Balkan War Room:
The bloody flag used during the Balkan War, bread made of broom seed and the pictures of Müdafii Şükrü Pasha are exhibited.
Encaustic tile and ceramic Room:
Çanakkale ceramics and earthenware jugs belonging to the end of XVIIIth century and the beginning of XIXth century, early - Ottoman ceramics, Ottoman wall encaustic tiles belonging to XVth, XVIth and XVIIth centuries are exhibited in this room.
In - Palace Room:
XVII century wall tiles belonging to Edirne Palace that have been obtained during the excavation made in the palace in 1973 are exhibited.
Edirne Guest Room:
Crystal mirror and console, armchairs and picture frames made of silk worm cocoons on the walls are exhibited.
Kitchen Tools Room:
Kitchen tools used in Edirne Palace are exhibited.
Measurement tools Room:
Hand scales, height woods relating to astronomy, sand clock, okka and yard measures are exhibited.
Wood Works Room I - II:
Wooden works made with Edirnekari technique are exhibited.
the inscriptions of Edirne Mosques, khans, baths, fountains and kiosks that have been destroyed after XVth century and the ceiling middles of Edirne houses constructed at the end of XIXth century are exhibited.
The inner courtyard has disappeared now. The collection of Janissary grave stones that have not been damaged during Vaka - i Hayriye event and that could survive until today has a special importance.